21 replies to this topic

#1 Nightingale

Nightingale

• IF Guardian
  • 676 posts
  • Interests:Reading, Movies, Writing, Learning, Soccer, Traveling
  • Religion: Islam

Posted 14 June 2012 - 12:39 PM

First off, I am horrible at doing this so please be understanding. If I went into the whole backstory
and reasons for my reversion, I'm sure it would take quite a while and could fill up at least a few
chapters of a book. Since I am a writer, don't test me because I can guarantee I could do it. But I'll try
to keep this to relevant points really.

Let me preface this with the fact that until I was 18, I had never been involved in any religion and
never had even attended church services or anything else. I knew that there was a God, yes just one,
but I didn't know anything else. My mother is a staunch Southern Baptist while my father is much
more an atheist or agnostic in his beliefs. When I finally did start going to church, it was to a
Southern Baptist church near my family's home just after my high school graduation. So I was
following in my mother's path basically.

At that time, since I was so new and was being told not to question what the pastor taught by
everyone, I just blindly went along with what I was told. At this time, my only thoughts about Islam
were generally thoughts about terrorists in the Middle East, because that's what everyone said. I had
never actually met a Muslim before. And then September 11th happened. I am somewhat ashamed to
admit that at that time I let myself be led by the prevailing sentiment about Islam and was very
judgemental about it.

Again that changed a few months later when I started working at a Starbucks nearby. During my
training, one of my trainers was a Muslim girl, wearing hijab and just always pleasant to people. Even
those who were grossly disgusting to her. I guess in a way I filed that information away in my brain
and it started to replace what I had felt about Islam.