Islamic Forum
guidance

Journalism...

Bismillah..

Asalamou Alaicom wr wb,

hoping that you all are in the best of health and Iman.

we're currently doing media studies, and we've got .. let's say.. a :D major :D english asignment. It's more of a presentation.

we are required to research an aspect of media, and i've chosen journalism.. our teacher says that we have to inform the class thoroughly about our topic, in another words, we're the teacher.

for that reason, it needs quite a lot of research and we only have a week.

searching things like what it is, the history of it, e.g. of journalists, how to become one, different aspects of it etc are all to be covered in samarised form.

To do all that, i for sure need the help of my beloved sisters and respected brothers.. if possible :D

had any of you studied journalism or is actually a journalists?

Jazakom Allahu Khair :D

PropellerAds

:D sis,

Well I'm studying to be a Journalist :D and wow, there're so many fields and areas in Journalism - wouldn't know where to begin.

I'd suggest giving a brief synopsis of the history of journalism (ie. when print media began) and the various types, including Broadcast Journalism, Print Journalism, Advocacy Journalism, Yellow Journalism, Investigative (muckracking), etc etc. :D The list never ends.

Also, you could concentrate on the ethical controversies that have always surrounded it. Like the mission to be 'objective' and to report 'the whole truth', which isn't exactly possible because every reporter/organization has its own biases and these are definitely portrayed, intentionally or otherwise. One look at CNN will prove that. :D

"you can't post links until you reach 50 posts_en.wikipedia(contact admin if its a beneficial link)/wiki/Journalism"]This[/url] is a good place to start collecting info. :D I'll check in if I can help further!

:D

WOW... i prefer to go basic as a year nine student :D

okay, let's go step by step..

what's "ethical controversies "

----