Islamic Forum
Sign in to follow this  
erutanie__

Advice...?

Peace,

I was raised Catholic, but found Islam about 4 months ago. Yea, I'm really a newbie. My parents are still very reluctant to let me practice Islam, and will not let me wear the headscarf. Is there any advice anybody could give me on what to tell them, and how to get it across to them that this is the path I have chosen?

Thanks for any help!

PropellerAds

Assalaamu 'alaikum,

Maybe invite some sisters round - not necessarily to speak about Islam, but just to show on a personal level iA that us Muslims can be decent and likeable. Possibly, your parents see Islam as a foreign thing, so it'd be nice for them to associate a person/face with it - hopefully one they like.

If that gets their interest, then books would be good.

Also show your parents that being Muslim makes you happy.

Wassalaam.

Assalau Alaykum Sister;

All praise be to Allah :D who guided you to the true religion, Islam.

My parents are still very reluctant to let me practice Islam, and will not let me wear the headscarf.

Maybe your parents have a pre-established idea about Islam. Try your best to kindly present the true message of Islam to both of them, tell them about prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings be upon him) , tell them that prophet Jesus (peace be upon him) is one of the mightiest prophets of Allah :D , tell them that in the Holy Qur'an, no woman is given more attention than Mary and that there is a chapter named after her...

Indeed, when a person is confronted to his/her parents, it's not easy. Yet sister, many reverts managed to truly practice Islam despite the opposition of their families.

Here is an interesting website for reverts:

"you can't post links until you reach 50 posts_www.welcome-back(contact admin if its a beneficial link)"]you can't post links until you reach 50 posts_www.welcome-back(contact admin if its a beneficial link)[/url]