Islamic Forum
wiseguy

I Need Your Advice About Marriage

Assalamulaikum sisters and brothers in Islam and greeting to non-Muslims,

Let me intorduce myself: I am a professional and an educated mixed-blooded Muslim man of Arab descent and people say that I am a good looking man ...Praise be to Allah! Someday I hope that I will marry a good Muslim woman without lavish wedding because I believe that Islam encourages us to be moderate. In the Qur'an, Almighty Allah says: "Thus have We made of you a Middle Ummah, that you might be witnesses over the people, and the Messenger a witness over yourselves…" (al-Baqarah: 143)

"Say: “O People of the Book! Make no excess in your religion, trespassing beyond the truth, nor follow the vain desires of people who went wrong in times gone by, who misled many, and strayed (themselves) from the even Way." (al-Ma’idah: 77)

Muslims are called Ummatan Wasatan. The commentators of the Qur’an explain the word “wasat” as “justly balanced”, “the best (khiyar or khayr)”. (see al-Tabari, al-Qurtubi, Ibn Kathir etc.) Yusuf Ali says: “The essence of Islam is to avoid all extravagances on either side. It is a sober, practical religion.” (note 143 on 2:143)

Allah has made this Ummah a moderate Ummah. Muslims have to follow the middle path, the path that has no extremes or excesses.

My question is: In which country can I find and marry a good Muslim woman without lavish wedding? I hope you would be pleased to advise me. Your advice, opinion, guidance etc are highly appreciated. Thank you very much.

PropellerAds

Assalamu Alaikum brother ######,

Culture and the type of woman you choose will determine what kind of marriage you have. InshaAllah, if you select a woman based on her religion and manners, then you'll find that she is the best choice. A woman who is conscious of the aakhirah will more than likely be less "lavish" in her ways and may be more simple.