Jump to content
Islamic Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Aku

Wrigleys Haram & Halal Product Alert!

Recommended Posts

Salam Alaikum

 

In response to a user on our forum who posted an article about how Wrigley products are haram - I decided to write to them and recieved the following reply:

 

==============================

=====

 

From:

wrigley(contact admin if its a beneficial link)]PR[at]wrigley(contact admin if its a beneficial link) | Block Address | Add to Contacts

To:

[clip]

Date: 26 May 2006, 09:00:14 PM

Subject: Re: In Response to your Website Comments - Ref # 000159856A

 

Dear Akbar,

Thank you for contacting us about animal ingredients and our products.

To answer to your question, the vast majority of Wrigley products sold in the

U.S. are free from ingredients of animal origin, including egg and dairy

products. At present, the only chewing gum exceptions are Extra® Polar Ice

stick gum and Juicy Fruit® pellet gums.

Extra® Polar Ice gum and Orbit® Crystal Mint contain tiny flavor beads encased

in a microscopic layer of gelatin, which is animal based. We have requested the

development of a gelatin-free flavor bead that is currently being worked on by

our supplier. Juicy Fruit Grapermelon and Strappleberry gums use shellac as a

coating agent.

The different varieties of our ALTOIDS mints do contain very small quantities

of gelatin which is derived from pork. Gelatin does not impart any flavor to

ALTOIDS, but it's a necessary ingredient for the texture of the mint. When we

use gelatin it is thoroughly purified and dried during its manufacturing

process. Our staff is continually looking at alternatives to animal gelatin,

but at the moment we've not been able to find a substitute that produces the

same quality you've come to love with ALTOIDS.

Our LifeSaver gummies do contain small quantities of gelatin, which is also

derived from pork. It follows the same drying and purifying process as with the

Altoids.

If your diet does not allow you to consume animal byproducts such as dairy, our

CremeSaver line does contain cream, which is a dairy byproduct. On the same

note, our LifeSaver Fusions and LifeSaver gummies are produced on the same line

as our CremeSavers, so there is a chance of cross contamination. Our CremeSaver

soft chews also contain a small amount of gelatin, which is pork based.

We hope this information has been helpful and thanks again for contacting the

Wrigley Company.

Sincerely,

Ryné King

Consumer Affairs Representative

 

==============================

=============

 

 

Therefore according to the info above the following products of theirs are Haram:

 

Extra® Polar Ice Stick Gum

Juicy Fruit® pellet gums.

Extra® Polar Ice gum and Orbit® Crystal Mint

Juicy Fruit Grapermelon and Strappleberry gums

ALTOIDS mints

Our LifeSaver gummies

CremeSaver

LifeSaver Fusions and LifeSaver

 

The remaining are halal

 

 

HARAM PRODUCTS BY WRIGLEYS

 

haram_pro.gif

 

HALAL PRODUCTS BY WRIGLEYS

 

halal_pro.gif

 

 

Insha'Allah please spread this around as well since this is FIRST HAND info from me and anyone can verify it by visiting the wrigleys website and using the "contact" form available there

Wrigleys website: (www.)"you can't post links until you reach 50 posts_you can't post links until you reach 50 posts_www.wrigley(contact admin if its a beneficial link)"]you can't post links until you reach 50 posts_www.wrigley(contact admin if its a beneficial link)[/url]

 

==============================

Edited by Aku

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
PropellerAds

Assalamu alaikum

 

Jazakumullah Khair, brother. I shall pass this on to others too, InshaAllah. :D

 

I tend to stick to DoubleMint and Airwaves, anyway.

 

Ma'assalama

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

:D

:D for sharing this information

 

i used to eat the Strappleberry gum but now i wont anymore.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

:D

 

:D for sharing :D

 

:D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Asalmualakum + Jazakallah Khair

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

:D

 

:D

 

(www.)"you can't post links until you reach 50 posts_www.wrigley(contact admin if its a beneficial link)/wrigley/index.asp"]you can't post links until you reach 50 posts_www.wrigley(contact admin if its a beneficial link)/wrigley/index.asp[/url]

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
:D

 

im quite shocked, all sugar free extra are haram ??????

 

salaam,

jazakallah any wayz. ^^thats what i wanted to know. Because only polar ice was mentioned as being haraam, but the picture shows virtually all of the extra products as haraam?! very confusing :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

:D

 

On my Extra chewing gum, it hasn't got any animal products in, and it says it's suitable for vegetarians. :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

:D

 

^ are you from uk by any chance?

most of the wrigley's say its suitable for veg and doesnt contain alcohol ????

 

and most of the 'halal' products are american???

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On my Extra chewing gum, it hasn't got any animal products in, and it says it's suitable for vegetarians.

 

:D

 

They do sis, I was at the supermarket earlier today and checked on various packs and are suitable for vegetarians :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

salam alaikum

 

ok further investigation has alhamdolillah led the "narrowing down of the product lines and specific flavors....so its not as bad as initially thought...please view the first post to see updated images.

 

ok it took a while to find the images of the individual flavors...i have updated the images above to reflect the correct changes

 

also i have taken the "brand" images off since they may confuse people since many flavors fall under each brand...

 

so now the images displayed will only display the specific "types" and "flavors" which are unsuitable for consumptions by muslims

 

also please note: the Products sold in the UK and other places in the world by wrigleys differ greatly and DO NOT include the products listed as haram in the first post. However if you do see them on your shop shelves, please be aware that those are products most probably imported from the USA and are manufactured using pork gelatine.

 

The products listed in the first post are made with a formula which requires pork gelatine to be used and thus they are to be considered haram wether available in the uk, usa or elsewhere.

 

jazak Allah khair for all the input - its been very helpful in narrowing down the products

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

:D

 

extra...:D......i swear the pc was different yesterday...didnt it have all the extra gums....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

:D

 

oops..just read the posts now...normally post myself then read others :D

 

i had extra polar ice yesterday....... :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

:D

ok i got to ask, has anyone from uk contacted the uk wrigleys company to check if any of their products contain ALTOIDS?

 

and also from the 'halal' list, the red cherry airwaves doesnt say 'suitable for vegetariens' but its on the 'halal' list?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  

×