Islamic Forum
Sign in to follow this  
modestsister

My Mother And I Took Shahadah On The Same Day

Salam Alaikum,

I am a 24 year old revert to Islam. I started studying Islam a few days after I moved from West Virginia (USA) to Rochester, MN (USA). A little less then two weeks after studying my heart broke and I found myself in tears as I read the third chapter in the Holy Quran. I was in to much fear not to accept Islam as the only one true religion or way of life. I asked my friends how I can revert to Islam. They told me that first I needed my parents permission. My mother and father where divorced and I had not seen my dad sense I was 2 years old so sense I had no contact with him I just asked my mother. When I was about to talk with my mother about me wanting to convert to Islam, I was so afraid at what she would say, I figured it would be a "no" but to my surprise I found that my mother had been studying Islam for about 7 years. She had not told me about her studies because I was a strong and devoted Christian, in fact my intentions when I first picked up the Quran was to try to find errors so to help my Muslim friends convert to Christianity, just it happened to back fire and I found myself wanting to convert to Islam. My mother was so relived the day I asked her permission to revert to Islam. I then took her to meet with a older Pakistani brother who ran a restruant at our local town galeria. He gave us the phone number of a Sister who could teach us about Islam, a sister who had a 4 year degree in Islamic Studies from Saudi Arabia. This sister incouraged us both to take Shahadah and so we did. We where all set to go to the Masjid to take our Shahdah when we had last minute plans. The sister who was teaching us was not feeling well so she invited about 10 sisters over to her home for our witnesses and we all met at her home and tookd our Shahdah. My mother went first, it was so beautiful to hear my mom recite Shahdah after the sister. Then it was my turn t