Islamic Forum
know Islam

My Experience And Islam…..

I was born a catholic my mother was very religious, she tried many ways to make me attend church on Sunday and confess as often as I can, when I graduated and became an English teacher I found a job in the middle east (Saudi Arabia) that paid well so I took it even though I heard a lot about Islam and terrorism that made my family especially my mother very concerned but she was also uncomfortable that I am going to a none christen world. All I was concerned about was building my self a career back then, so I didn’t heed my mother's advice and took the job and ended up in KSA. After three years in the kingdom I converted to Islam as I felt that it really satisfied me spiritually even though I didn’t agree on all of the things in the Quran such as the treatment of women for instance and the fact that I cant invest in banks unless they were Islamic because of interest issues I am sure you people know. But then once I became a Muslim and knew many things that I didn’t previously know about this religion I realized this huge gap between the things I was told by the people whom helped me convert and the things I saw. They told me when I converted that music is forbidden by god as it was written in the Quran but where ever I went in the kingdom I listen to the youth listening to all kind of music. At first I thought that they were a minority but then I realized that only a hand full of Muslims didn't listen to music in the entire world. I tried to neglect this fact for as long as I can but I did have a lot of songs I enjoyed before my conversion and it was not easy to let go of them in the first place and with every one around me listening to them the pressure increased on me and eventually I started to listen to them again. The same thing happened to me with smoking, personally I don’t smoke but I was told that is forbidden by Islam. I also saw other issues with in the kingdom that every one did and it was considered f