Islamic Forum
RyanM

I'm A Fairly Recent Convert/revert

As-sallamu aleykum.

My father died 12 days before my 13th birthday from cancer. He literally died in my arms. His illness and passing was very hard and started my path towards Islam. When my father became ill, he began going to churches looking for one. We ended up at a United Methodist Church at which time I was first exposed to Islam during a confirmation class where we had to learn about other religions.

When my father died pulled away from the Christian church and was very angry with my creator. After about a year I began investigating many beliefs. I investigated and followed some wiccan type religions, some shamanistic type paths, I studied Buddhism, Judaism, for a time I attended and was baptized in the Mormon church... but none of this was ever correct. It never made me feel complete, I always doubted it all.

A little over 3 years ago I began to investigate Islam. Over the past few years I have spoken to many Muslims online and developed friendships with a handful. In these past 6 months or so I have begun to take Islam seriously. I began to read a lot online. I began listening to lots of Islamic speakers such as Yusuf Estes, Hamza Yusuf, Zaid Shakir, etc. One day I woke up and knew Allah to be the one and only god. I decided/acknowledged Islam is the true religion. I did Shahadah. I then began seeking out local Muslims that could help me learn and grow as a Muslim