Islamic Forum
check2010

What Pace Should I Set For Fluency In 3 Years?

I'm a freshmen college student right now, in Arabic II. Arabic I discussed the sounds and letters of the Arabic language and now in Arabic II we're increasing our vocabulary and understanding of the grammar.

I have approximately 3 years until I graduate and I want to be fluent in Arabic by that time. I have a passion for the language and will do whatever it takes to master it.

My questions have to do with how many words should I set to memorize, and should it be on a weekly basis or monthly or what? All advice is appreciated. :sl:

PropellerAds

Assalaamu alaikum,

I would really appreciate an answer to this question as well. I heard somewhere that complete fluency in Arabic normally takes 7 years of studies (?!). I would love to hear about sisters´/brothers´experiences in learning Arabic and how they became fluent in it.

Salam y'all,

Unless you're exceedingly talented, I fear that full fluency in three years will be very difficult, especially if you're studying at university in the US or Europe.

Based on how students in our U.S. programs perform, I'd say that the best one could hope to achieve in three years would be:

1. Reading. The ability to read a (simple) modern text slowly and with a dictionary.

2. Writing. The ability to write about very simple topics, with a minimun of error.

2. Speaking. Able to express yourself on simple topics and understand MSA conversations on the same topics. Probably, one would not be able to follow well, if at all, a conversation in colloquial. (No more than a speaker of Latin could follow a conversation in Italian.)

By the end of the third year, however, you'll be at a point where your level of knowledge will be just about ready to grow at a much faster rate.