Islamic Forum
DragonFlies

A Bit Of A Problem With Hijab...

Assalamu alaikum, brothers and sisters. :) I've not taken my shahada, as I'm still studying Islam and finding out how I feel about it, however I have been given the opportunity to attend a nearby Masjid in order to learn more about Islam and its people. It's a very small Masjid, only about thirty people attend it (as I live in a very rural area and there are few Muslims). Insha'Allah when I go to the Masjid, I want to be properly dressed and covered completely; aside from my face and my hands. I already have a hijab, and I've been learning how to wrap it in a fitting way- however, I've come across a problem.

I own about 10 scarves; none of them were originally intended to be hijabs, but they are all perfect for this occassion- they're all large enough. However, no matter how many different styles I try, I always feel as though the hijab is choking me about the neck! D: I want to wear it properly, without my neck showing- so I can't loosen it any more than I have, but I still feel uneasy around there. It's not PAINFUL or even dangerous by any means, it's just a bit uncomfortable. Have any other sisters had this problem? And are there any possible ways to "fix" it? I want to be presentable to the attendants of the Masjid when I go, because I think attending a Masjid in any other dress but hijab would be disrespectful.

Thanks! :D

PropellerAds

It might be that you are pulling it too tight when you bring it to the side and then over your head. I will message you some YouTube videos that helped me learn how to put it on and perhaps they will help you.