Islamic Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Arsalan

Do Athiest Need Morals?

Do athiest need morals, in the great scheme of things. If so....

1 What defines them?

2 Who dictates them? Isit soley an indivdual perogative or should it be a collective responsiblity? Or choose another angle if u so wish...

3 And should they be abolsute or relative, or a bit of both? But dictates this?

If you feel no, then why?

( i know this is very open ended and all that.. but try to stick to the jist of the above questions, and no iam not implying the west is full of athiest! :D )

PropellerAds

Peace Abdul,

I'm not a proper atheist, in that I don't deny the possibility of God existing. (i.e. Agnostic) I think it adds up to much the same thing though in order the answer your question :D

Do athiest need morals, in the great scheme of things. If so....

I don't believe there are many people without morals as I believe more or less everbody has them naturally.

1 What defines them?

I believe these morals come from emotive responses to issues. For example hearing of somebody being robbed would make me feel sorry for the victim and angry at the perpetrator. I therefore believe robbery is wrong etc.

I believe these emotive responses are formed partially genetically, and partially through what happens to us throughout our lives.

2 Who dictates them? Isit soley an indivdual perogative or should it be a collective responsiblity? Or choose another angle if u so wish...

I think because morality is formed partially from the society one lives in that no one person/source dictates them but similarities will inevitably develop between those exposed to a similar environment.

3 And should they be abolsute or relative, or a bit of both? But dictates this?