Islamic Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Ilmseeker

College Admission Essay.

:D

Well, I am a student at a community college and I am planning on transferring to a 4-year University inshallah in the fall of 2005. One thing I have to do is write an essay.

You can write the essay about:

ambitions / goals / special talent / unusual interests / significant event.

My answers to these questions are all Islam or being a good Muslim.

What I would appreciate from you all is just some feedback or comments, anything on my essay. If you think I need to improve it somehow or if it's good, please anything will help. :D

Here it is:

Many people wonder about the purpose of life. A couple months ago I figured out the answer. One night as I was lying awake in bed, a thought crossed my mind. That thought changed my life. I thought about the day of my death and what was beyond this world. I had read, seen and heard about people competing in this world to gain wealth, status and power, but they would all leave this world empty handed. I became scared, I realized that I was not a permanent resident of this world. I knew one thing, religion was the answer but which one? I was convinced that there was a creator of everything and that I had to follow a certain religion to be truly successful after I died. So I began my search for the truth, I borrowed many books from the library and read all about the many different religions. The one religion that made sense to me was Islam. I found out that Islam is the primordial faith of mankind. Also I learned Islam is not only a religion but a way of life.